Newsbites: Starship album on the way

Countdown: Mickey Thomas
Mickey Thomas is nearing completion on the first Starship studio album since 1989. It’s called Loveless Fascination and features Foreigner, Dokken and Dio bassist Jeff Pilson. Thomas says: “He and I got together and just clicked. With Jeff’s help I’ve finally been able to put together an album with totally new material. I’m really excited about it.” The record is due for release in September. [Ultimate Classic Rock]
Megadeth mainman Dave Mustaine has enjoyed his introduction to country music via his daughter. He says: “I usually listen to jazz and classical in my car. When my wife and kids are in the car it depends on which kid. My son likes metal and my daughter likes country – you’re always listening to different ideas. Country right now is like old-school rock with a bunch of nasally singers on it; it’s kind of cool. It kind of rocks – plus, they’re using all our old staging from the 80s.” [Daily Herald]
Mike Portnoy is keen to clarify a misconception about his latest band, the Winery Dogs. The drummer reports: “The band was only every myself, Richie Kotzen and Billy Sheehan – John Sykes was never a part. Myself and Billy were previously working with John on an entirely different project, consisting strictly of John’s material. When that didn’t pan out, Billy and I began working from scratch with Ritchie, and that’s when the Winery Dogs were born. It’s important that people understand.”
Rick Wakeman has recalled how his album Journey To The Centre Of The Earth nearly didn’t make it, as he prepares to celebrate its 40th anniversary with over 100 live shows next year. “The record company didn’t want to release it,” he says. “I got massively into debt and had a letter from Express Dairies over my milk bill. But it sold millions, America embraced it – and I paid my milk bill.”
Thunder have added a second Christmas show at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall on December 21, after the first event on the previous night sold out.
The full tracklist for celebrity Kiss tribute album A World With Heroes has been revealed. The release features members and ex-members of Guns n’Roses, Pantera and Whitesnake, among other, and will raise funds for cancer care. It’s already reached its PledgeMusic target, although it’s still possible to become involved.
Disc One
1. Psycho Circus – DDrive
2. Spit – Ken Dubman, Jimmy Callahan, Scott Metaxas, Mark Tornillo
3. Deuce – Bill Leverty, Kevin Valentine, John Regan, Russ Dwarf
4. Sure Know Something – Chris Buck, Anthony Cardenas Montana
5. Detroit Rock City – Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal, Rex Brown, Brian Tichy
6. Eyes Of Love – Eric Carr, Benny Doro, John Humphrey
7. Shout Mercy – Jeff Paris, Troy Lucketta, Eric Brittingham, Jeff LaBar
8. Creatures Of The Night – Brighton Rock
9. Larger Than Life – Rex Brown, Brian Tichy, Mark Zavon
10. Cold Gin – Don Dokken, Tommy Denander
11. Love Gun – Tony Harnell, Mark Kendall, Scott Snyder, Sean Michael Clegg, Kevin Valentine, Tommy Denander
12. Little Caesar – Ron Young, John Regan, Tommy Denander
13. Hard Luck Woman – Chris vanDahl, Stacey Blades, Adam Hamilton
14. Outerspace – Shredmill
15. Goodbye – Impera, Bob Kulick, Lars Chriss
16. See You Tonight – Todd Farhood and Mystery
17. Beth – Michael Lardie
18. Tomorrow – Dressed To Chill
19. Anything For My Baby – Slaves On Dope
20. Unholy – Fred Duvall, Glenn Belcher, Mark Slaughter, Rob Zakojc, Russ Dwarf
Disc Two
1. Breakout – Tod Howarth, John Regan, Kevin Valentine
2. Rock’n'Roll Hell – Ron Keel, Troy Lucketta, Eric Brittingham, Jeff LaBar
3. Nowhere To Run – Druckfarben
4. The Oath – Rick Hughes, Chris Buck, Bob Richard
5. Master And Slave – Adam Hamilton, Scott Griffin, Stacey Blades, Phil Lewis
6. Calling Dr Love – Burning Rain
7. I Stole Your Love – SUN and Derek Sharp
8. Reason To Live – Johnnie Dee, Derry Grehan, Michael Foster, Bill Leverty
9. Hard Luck Woman – Fred Duvall, Glenn Belcher, Rob Zakojc, Russ Dwarf
10. Forever – Terry Ilous, Sean Kelly, Jeff Paris
11. Sword And Stone – Bonfire
12. God Of Thunder – Americna Dog
13. She – Razer
14. New York Groove – Kevin Jardine, Jason Rockman, Marty O’Brien, Elizabeth Lopez, Peter Tzaferis
15. Magic Touch – Jim Crean, Phil Naro, Vinny Appice, Steve Major, Stan Miczek
16. Tears Are Falling – Willie Base, Bruce Bouillet, Scott Warren, Mike Hansen
17. Rock’n'Roll All Nite – Harley Fine, John Regan, Atom Fellows
18. Shandi – Dani Luv, Scott Griffin, Matt Starr
19. Beth – Chris vanDahl, Scott Griffin
20. Beth – Phil Naro, William Hare, Ed Bernard