Premiere: Jake E Lee’s Red Dragon Cartel

Jake E Lee is back with his new band Red Dragon Cartel… view the lyric video for debut track Feeder, featuring Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander on vocals, below.
It’s taken from the band’s self-titled album – which is Lee’s first in two decades, due for release on January 27 via Frontiers Records.
The former Ozzy Osbourne guitarist, who went on to form Badlands, gathered a stack of big names for his recording sessions: Paul Di’Anno (ex Iron Maiden), Rex Brown (Kill Devil Hill, ex Pantera), Todd Kearns and Brent Fitz (Slash), Scott Reeder (ex Kyuss), Maria Brink (In This Moment), Jeremy Spencer (Five Finger Death Punch), Tom Petersson (Cheap Trick) and Sass Jordan (SUN).
The core band consists of vocalist DJ Smith, bassist Ronnie Mancuso and drummer Jonas Fairley. They got together after Mancuso asked Lee to appear in a video for his band Beggars And Thieves.
“I was shocked he agreed,” Mancuso admits. “When it premiered there was this kind of outpouring of love for him. Everybody wanted new music – that’s when the idea was born.”
Red Dragon Cartel’s music is described as “focused, fresh and fiery” while embracing the style Lee’s best known for. “It’s not like we stopped listening to music for two decades,” says Mancuso. “Modern influences certainly pop up. But there are inimitable elements to Jake’s playing – you know it’s him. It’s modern without trying to be modern.”
The band will tour the US briefly next month with many more dates planned for 2014.
Red Dragon Cartel tracklist
01. Deceived
02. Shout It Out
03. Feeder – featuring Robin Zander
04. Fall From The Sky (Seagull)
05. Wasted – featuring Paul Di’Anno
06. Slave
07. Big Mouth – featuring Maria Brink
08. War Machine
09. Redeem Me – featuring Sass Jordan
10. Exquisite Tenderness